top of page

Third Genre of Project Three

For my last genre of project three, I decided to write a letter to my sister thanking her for helping throughout school and especially college. I also wanted to thank her for helping me on my second project by conducting an interview with me.

Dear Sofia,

Growing up together isn’t easy. As children we fought, disagreed, and competed for attention from our parents. However, our differences never caused us to stray from one another. We looked to one another for support, compassion, and understanding. Having you as an older sister has been one of the most influential aspects of my life. You always excelled in academics, and have guided me through my own academic endeavors. As a junior in high school, I was unsure of what my future had in store for me as the end of high school drew closer. Although, after attending your graduation the University of South Florida, one thing became clear for me. I wanted to attend a large university where I would be able to discover more about myself. As if your graduation from USF wasn’t inspirational enough, you were accepted into Florida State University College of Law, and Stetson University College of Law shortly after graduation. You even received a scholarship from each school, which set the bar that much higher for what I need to accomplish. As I began my senior year of high school, I managed to figure out that I wanted to attend Florida State University and major in Philosophy on a Pre-Law track thanks to your advice. After gaining acceptance into FSU you advised me on my future college experience. You recommended not only classes that you thought would be beneficial for law school, but even advised me on matters such as student housing options and how many pairs of shoes to bring. During my first semester here at FSU you’ve served as a constant source of support. You were the first person I thought of for my interview for ENC 2135, and helped me get through the longest paper I had ever written. Your insight on writing a personal statement for law school was invaluable, and served as a substantial portion of my paper. Your opinion on writing a personal statement differed from every other source I had found. Your opinion gave a more realistic view of writing a personal statement which stuck out from the rest of my scholarly sources. Without your help on my research paper I would probably still be stuck at 500 words. Additionally, whenever I felt overwhelmed by my work I could call you and know that you would understand. Whether I was complaining about how many papers I had to write or how terrible the parking can be at FSU, you always seemed to understand. As I prepare for the fall semester here at FSU, I will approach it with more confidence and certainty knowing that my sister is only a phone call away.

With Love,

Nico


Never Miss a Post!
bottom of page