top of page

Blog Post #11 (Final Blog for ENC 2135)

Before reading the Wikipedia page on viral marketing, the topic did not mean much to me. As a millennial who has several social media accounts, I see dozens of videos every day advertising goods that range from Non-GMO lemonades to the newest Nike shoes. However, this article fully explained how newly founded and established companies can expand nearly overnight through one viral marketing campaign. The Wikipedia page used the company Dollar Shave Club as an example. While it does not occur very often, I do shave my beard, and I instantly recognized the brand. I did not even realize that Dollar Shave Club had used a viral marketing campaign to get its foot in the door of the shaving industry. Although, I very quickly recalled seeing numerous videos on social media platforms such as Instagram and Twitter before seeing a Dollar Shave Club commercial on TV. The Wikipedia page then explained that after only two days of advertising on YouTube, the Dollar Shave Club had 12,000 people sign up for its services. The video that started the Dollar Shave Club’s Campaign was cost only 4,500 dollars to produce, meanwhile it costs a dollar for one person to sign up. The potential success of using viral marketing is unquestionable, and I think that this Wikipedia page has served as a prime example of different genres that we can use for our third project. Even though my topic for project three will not serve as a sellable good or service, if I ever decide to start up my own company, viral marketing will most likely be the first platform of advertising I would invest in.


Never Miss a Post!
bottom of page