top of page

Project Number Two Annotated Bibliography

DeVito, Sofia Carmela. “Project Number Two Interview Number One.” 11 July 2017. I interviewed my sister, she is going into her second year at Stetson Law School in Saint Petersburg, Florida. My sister was an excellent college student, she graduated with above a 3.5 GPA from the University of South Florida with a degree in Political Science. Upon admittance into Stetson Law School she received a substantial scholarship. My sister spoke about the difficulties associated with having to write about yourself in a flattering matter. She also addressed topics on whether her undergraduate studies prepared properly for writing such an important personal statement. My sister strongly relates to my topic, because she finished writing her personal statement for law school approximately a year ago. My sister does not relate to some of my other current sources, because I received a raw and unfiltered interview from her, whereas my other current sources come from academic and refined statements. Through interviewing my sister I was able to gain insight to how writing a personal statement can effect a young person during a turbulent time in their life. However, my sister has only gone through a single year of law school and her opinion on her personal statement could change as she discovers more about herself during her time in law school. I found that interviewing my sister was interesting, because as my sister I thought I could predict her answers to my questions. To my surprise, many of her answers contradicted my predictions.

“Law School Personal Statement Dos and Don'ts.” Cawley Career Education Center | Georgetown University, careercenter.georgetown.edu/graduate-law-school/law-school-application/law-school-personal-statement-tips.html. Accessed 13 July 2017. I found this source on the Georgetown Law School Application Website. It provides recommendations as to what an applicant should include in their personal statement, and more importantly what not to include. This was an excellent source for me to use considering the prestigious reputation the Georgetown Law School holds. This source was different from many other websites I found on writing a personal statement for law school as it was more humanistic and wasn’t so formal. This source actually focused on not writing about yourself and a personal struggle as many of my other sources advised the reader to focus on. The most interesting piece of information from this article was the fact that it said to try to entertain the reader of your personal statement. They have a tedious job and fine details can help amuse the reader.

“Personal Statement.” Personal Statement | University of Chicago Law School, www.law.uchicago.edu/prospectives/jdfaq/personalstatement. Accessed 13 July 2017. This was a rich source I found while searching the internet. This was an article written by the University of Chicago Law School which is another nationally renowned law school that is infamously difficult to gain acceptance into. This article focused nearly entirely on making the personal statement, personal. The institution explicitly stated that they are requesting a brief statement to allow them to gain a better understanding of the applicant is and their story. Differing from my other sources, this source focused on making the personal statement as personal as possible and elaborating on who you are and how you came to this point in your life. By far, the most compelling piece of information I read in this source was the fact that the University of Chicago’s Law School advises applicants to write their application in their own, unique voice.


Never Miss a Post!
bottom of page